Fried Quinoa

Standard

Ohie~ Yes I know I haven’t posted anything in awhile but I decided to come back and just blog about stuff I cook normally…. Just because I can I guess.. 

So today I made fried quinoa which is variation of what Chef John made.. I previously made pork-fried quinoa with ham as suggested but today I decided not to do the pork version because I didn’t have any ham. Substituted instead with mushrooms. 😀 

Image

Here’s the recipe of what I made: 

1 1/2 cups of Quinoa

2 1/4 cups of water (to cook the quinoa in)

1 large red pepper

2 small onions

~1 cup of mushroom 

3-4 cloves of garlic (minced) 

1 small carrot 

Soy sauce

Tabasco sauce

Wash the quinoa, drain and let it sit for 5 minutes. Then put the quinoa into a pot and the 2 1/4 cups of water and cook over high heat. When it starts to simmer, lower the heat and cover the pot. Cook for 15 minutes. 

Chop the garlic, carrot, red pepper, onions and mushrooms. The amount of veggies you choose to add is up to you. The last time I cooked this, I didn’t feel like it was filling enough so bumped up the amount of veggies a little and added a carrot. =) 

Image

 

Uncooked, the amount of veggies looked a bit intimidating but after all of it softens and cooks, it isn’t as much as it seems. So I have to always remind myself to add more veggies without fear. 

Next let’s start making fried quinoa! Add some oil into a pan (I fried some eggs to eat with this dish, so just used the leftover oil in the pan), then add the chopped carrots, red peppers, onions and mushrooms. After all the veggies soften, add the garlic. Continue to cook for a bit and then add the cooked quinoa. Stir well then add soy sauce and tabasco! 

Continue mixing and cooking all the ingredients. I decided to replace the rice wine and hot sauce Chef John used with tabasco (coz that’s what I have) and it actually turned out quite yummy. Put as much and as little as you like. 

All the fried quinoa I made was enough for 4 lunch servings. 

Leave a Reply

