Pandan Chiffon Cake

Standard

I have been wanting to make this yummy treat for awhile now but I’ve been putting it off a few times already. Finally, I made this and the cake turned out quite well.

I found the recipe here: Kirbie Cravings’ Pandan Chiffon Cake recipe.

From what she said in that post, I felt a little unsure of whether the cake I was going to bake would turn out right.

I’ve made some modifications to the recipe as usual, just to suit the ingredients I have and to suit my lazy streak. I didn’t sift the flour but used a whisk to combine the dry ingredients. The whisk will break up the flour and mix the dry ingredients evenly.

20120318-110815.jpg

I used the same whisk to mix ingredients (A) and (B) together. And used my electric beater to mix the egg whites. Instead of cream of tartar, I substituted it with white vinegar. I don’t think it affected the taste much.

To be honest, I don’t think I mixed the final batter well enough but surprisingly it still turned out okay, at least taste-wise. The cake tin I had was on the shallow side. There was batter leftover after filling as much as I could into my cake tin. I decided to just improvise and bake the rest of the batter in cupcake cups. This was not one of my better ideas.

20120318-110825.jpg

I just didn’t have the time to bake two batches. So the cake was light and spongy but the cupcakes were a little dry. Not a good idea, next time I will reduce the recipe by half and it’ll just fit snugly in my cake tin I reckon. Will probably bake this again soon.

Here’s how it looks out of the oven:

20120318-110843.jpg

The crusty bits were definitely not that great compared to its spongy and moist insides.

20120318-110853.jpg

Stay tuned to see how the halved recipe will turn out like. 😉

Leave a Reply

