Tangzhong method Hokkaido Milk Toast

Standard

This as you might know is my second attempt at making bread. It’s definitely something that I’m not used to making yet. I have not really understood and mastered it yet. But this is a good attempt at making bread.

I found this Hokkaido Milk Toast  recipe from Kirbie Craving’s blog. I don’t have a bread machine or a powerful stand mixture so I had to knead by hand. My dough didn’t look as smooth as the one shown on her blog at all but it think it came out pretty well anyway. =) I used up all the tangzhong made with the recipe in her link, which is really great. I wouldn’t know what to do with the leftovers.

I separated the dough into two to knead as it was too much dough for me to handle. When putting the cylindrical rolls into my pan, I found it didn’t really fill up with only 3 rolls so I put in 4 anyway.

Like in the recipe, I divided the dough into 6 portions. I have 2 portions left and I decided to try making buns with them. But I found out that it wasn’t the right thing to do because loaf recipes and bun recipes are NOT THE SAME. I called my mum and told her about me making bread and buns out of the same dough and she has informed me that I can’t do that. lol.

funny shaped buns

However, the buns were all eaten up on the day itself. =D They weren’t too bad just not that good.

I fount out anyway when I tried the buns. The buns I made were dense and not soft and fluffy as I have imagined. The loaf however was really delicious. It was soft, fluffy and smelt really good.

Loaf of Hokkaido Milk Toast

I ate one portion of the bread with nutella. 😀 So yummy!

I am definitely going to try making more bread. So stay tune to see what disasters I’ll encounter. 😀

Leave a Reply

