Soba & Miso Dinner

Standard

Today I had to cook dinner for myself only. I almost resorted to going to a McDonald’s drive-through but then I remembered I had some Soba in the pantry. So I decided to make a simple meal out of what I’ve got in the pantry and fridge.

Soba noodles & Miso soup

The soup for Soba was made with just dashi granules, soy sauce and mirin! I mixed the ingredients in a small bowl first with a little bit of warm water and then added more water and heated it up on the stove. I also added some dumplings. The dumplings are the frozen type that you can get from Asian groceries.

I get hungry really quickly lately. The protein from miso will keep me full a little bit longer until bed time and I read that having some protein before turning in can actually help me sleep better. So miso it is! đŸ˜€

I really love making miso because it’s so easy. I made the soup with the dashi granules and some red miso paste. I think its really convenient having the dashi granules around. It’s not as healthy I guess but it makes cooking so much easier. =) Sometimes I add vegetables in the miso to add that extra serving of vegetable, like zucchini. Zucchini in soup is delicious!

Leave a Reply

